How do I build websites for clients?

How do I build websites for clients?

I have been in the market for around 3 years now and worked with small to medium enterprises and startups. The question I often get from clients is about how I build websites for them and what the process entails. So, here it is.

There are actually 6 steps I follow whenever a new client approaches:

  1. Initial Discussion

In the initial discussion, my main goal is to understand the exact requirements of the client, understand the client's business, targeted audience, and their unique selling points (USPs), and note these down in a Google Docs or Google Form for future reference.

  1. Share the Detailed Proposal with Estimated Cost & Time

After the initial discussion, I research the client's industry and plan the project, considering the number of unique pages, features and the time required for the solution. If I have any queries during this process, I discuss them with the client to ensure I have a clear idea of their expectations. After working out different solutions, I finalize the technologies to be used and estimate the project's time. Following this, I create a detailed proposal for the client and submit it to them.

  1. Design & Prototype

Upon approval of the proposal, I start working on the design, usually hiring one or two people to provide different perspectives. The design is crucial as it forms the first impression of the solution presented to the client. After the design phase, we work on the prototype, a mockup of the entire solution. This gives the client a clear picture of what we are building and how it will look in the end. Sometimes, additional features or pages requested by the client emerge during this phase, and we work on incorporating them.

  1. Development

After the approval of the Design & Prototype, I start the development. In my opinion, development usually takes less time (depending on the project, sometimes projects take a long time also 😅) compared to the design and prototype phase. This is because both the client and I have a clear idea of what we are going to develop after going through the design and prototype phases . In the development phase, I share the development server link with the client, allowing them to regularly check the progress of the application and ensuring they don't feel ghosted in the process.

  1. Hosting & Delivery

After development and testing, I move to the hosting part, where we host the application on the right server for the client, connect the domain (the client has to buy their domain, Of course, I assist them 😉), and deliver the full project.

  1. Support

Usually, I provide one or two months of support for the client, depending on the project. This allows the client to understand how the solution works, and during this time, if any issues arise or additional features are requested, I address them.

So, there it is, the entire process. It's a common practice I follow, subject to change depending on the project. If you have any queries, feel free to raise them in the comment section.

Also, if there are any projects, you can always shoot me in the mail : (it's always open) 😄.

So that's it, Happy Coding!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support AHMAD SWALIH by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!